Skip to content

About the Leeds

‘The Leeds’ has attracted the world’s finest young pianists and prize-winners include the Competition’s Patron Murray Perahia KBE, Radu Lupu, Mitsuko Uchida, András Schiff, Lars Vogt, Anna Tsybuleva, Federico Colli and Eric Lu.

Since the first edition held in 1963, The Leeds International Piano Competition has become one of the world’s foremost music competitions.

An International Trailblazer

Since its inception in 1963, the Leeds International Piano Competition has been a trailblazer among international music competitions and has shaped the world of classical piano. 

With the BBC broadcasting the competition since 1966 on television and radio, its impact has reached far and wide. Historical footage of piano legends in their formative years can be found in The Leeds archive, which has attracted over 2.4 million views in the first half of 2023 alone. 

More to the Leeds than a competition

The Leeds Piano Trail, brings the spirit of the competition to every corner of the city centre every three years. These pianos are available to play all year-round and are set to be experienced by over 1.8 million people in 2023 during Leeds’ Year of Culture. The Leeds Piano Trail was awarded a prestigious Royal Philharmonic Society Award in 2023.  

The competition’s schools programme, in partnership with Artforms Leeds and the Lang Lang International Music Foundation, plays a central role in engaging local children and young people with the piano, while also providing support for teachers and resources in music education for schools. 


The first Leeds International Piano Competition took place in 1963.
Co-founded by Fanny Waterman, a local piano teacher and Marion Thorpe, Countess of Harewood, over the past 60 years the competition has launched the careers of some of the greatest pianists of our time.
Learn More
Previous winners include Radu Lupu, Murray Perahia, Dmitri Alexeev, Alessio Bax, Sunwook Kim, Sofya Gulyak, Federico Colli, Anna Tsybuleva, Eric Lu and Alim Beisembayev.
Equally illustrious are the names of finalists, including Mitsuko Uchida and Sir Andras Schiff, Kathryn Stott, Peter Donohoe, Louis Lortie, Lars Vogt, Leon MacCawley, Sa Chen, Denis Kozhukhin, Louis Schwizgebel. Their exceptional talent continues to inspire generations of pianists.
Dame Fanny Waterman (1920-2020) chaired the jury from 1981 until her retirement in 2015 at the age of 95. She was succeeded by pianist Paul Lewis (2018) and current Artistic Director, Adam Gatehouse, and the competition is honoured to have the support of Murray Perahia as Patron and Lang Lang as Global Ambassador.
The historic Leeds Town Hall has served as the iconic venue for the competition's finals, with exceptions in 1975 and 2024 due to renovations. In 2024, the finals will take place in St. George's Hall, Bradford, before returning to the majestic backdrop of the Town Hall in 2027, accompanied by the installation of a Blue Plaque commemorating Dame Fanny Waterman's life.
Esteemed UK orchestras, including the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, and the Hallé, have played a crucial role in supporting the concerto finals. These performances have brought emerging talents together with renowned conductors such as Sir Charles Groves, Sir Simon Rattle, and Sir Mark Elder, often sparking enduring relationships.

Past Winners

Alim Beisembayev 1st
Kaito Kobayashi 2nd
Ariel Lanyi 3rd
Dmytro Choni 4th
Thomas Kelly 5th
Eric Lu 1st
Mario Häring 2nd
Xinyuan Wang 3rd
Anna Geniushene =Finalist
Aljoša Jurinić =Finalist
Anna Tsybuleva 1st
Heejae Kim 2nd
Vitaly Pisarenko 3rd
Drew Petersen 4th
Tomoki Kitamura 5th
Yun Wei 6th
Federico Colli 1st
Louis Schwizgebel 2nd
Jiayan Sun 3rd
Andrejs Osokins 4th
Andrew Tyson 5th
Jayson Gillham 6th
Sofya Gulyak 1st
Alexej Gorlatch 2nd
Alessandro Taverna 3rd
Rachel Cheung 4th
David Kadouch 5th
Jianing Kong 6th
Sunwook Kim 1st
Andrew Brownell 2nd
Denis Kozhukhin 3rd
Alice Wong 4th
Sung-hoon Kim 5th
Grace Fong 6th
Antti Siirala 1st
Evgenia Rubinova 2nd
Yuma Osaki 3rd
Igor Tchetuev 4th
Chiao-Ying Chang 5th
Sodi Braide 6th
Alessio Bax 1st
Davide Franceschetti 2nd
Severin von Eckardstein 3rd
Cristiano Burato 4th
Ashley Wass 5th
Tatiana Kolesova 6th
Ilya Itin 1st
Roberto Cominati 2nd
Aleksandar Madžar 3rd
Sa Chen 4th
Armen Babakhanian 5th
Ekaterina Apekisheva 6th
Ricardo Castro 1st
Leon McCawley 2nd
Mark Anderson 3rd
Filippo Gamba 4th
Maxim Philippov 5th
Margarita Shevchenko 6th
Artur Pizarro 1st
Lars Vogt 2nd
Éric Le Sage 3rd
Balázs Szokolay 4th
Haesun Paik 5th
Andrei Zheltonog 6th
Vladimir Ovchinnikov 1st
Ian Munro 2nd
Noriko Ogawa 3rd
Boris Berezovsky 4th
Hugh Tinney 5th
Marcantonio Barone 6th
Jon Kimura Parker 1st
Ju Hee Suh 2nd
Junko Otake 3rd
Louis Lortie 4th
Sara Davis Buechner 5th
Emma Tahmizian 6th
Ian Hobson 1st
Wolfgang Manz 2nd
Bernard d’Ascoli 3rd
Daniel Blumenthal 4th
Christopher O’Riley 5th
Peter Donohoe 6th
Michel Dalberto 1st
Diana Kacso 2nd
Lydia Artymiw 3rd
Ian Hobson 4th
Kathryn Stott 5th
Etsuko Terada 6th
Dmitri Alexeev 1st
Mitsuko Uchida 2nd
András Schiff =3rd
Pascal Devoyon =3rd
Michael Houstoun =4th
Myung-whun Chung =4th
Murray Perahia 1st
Craig Sheppard 2nd
Eugen Indjic 3rd
Radu Lupu 1st
Georges Pludermacher 2nd
Arthur Moreira Lima 3rd
Boris Petrushansky 4th
Anne Queffélec 5th
Rafael Orozco 1st
Viktoria Postnikova =2nd
Semyon Kruchin =2nd
Alexey Nasedkin 3rd
Jean-Rodolphe Kars 4th
Michael Roll 1st
Vladimir Krainev 2nd
Sebastien Risler 3rd
Armenta Adams 4th

Our Partners

Principal Partner
City Partners
Broadcast Partners
Artistic Partners
Funding Partners
Skip to content